Finlaggan Islay

The Centre of the Lordship of the Isles

  • Home
  • Weddings
  • History
    • Why Finlaggan?
    • Family Tree
    • The Council
    • Associated Names
    • Finlaggan Timeline
    • People and Events
  • Archaeology
    • Archaeology Intro
    • Eilean Mor
    • Eilean Na Comhairle
    • Cnoc Seannda
    • Archaeological Finds
  • News
  • Contact
Finlaggan in 2019

Finlaggan in 2019

March 9, 2019 By ron Leave a Comment

The Finlaggan Visitor Centre will open on Saturday 30 March. We look forward to seeing again those who have visited us before and welcoming new visitors to the site.

The season promises to be an exciting one for the Trust. In addition to a number of major repairs to the access road, the Visitor Centre and Eilean Mor, we will also be showcasing our virtual reality reconstruction of the site during its height in the fifteenth century.

Working in collaboration with the University of St. Andrews this exciting project will provide visitors with some sense of Finlaggan at the zenith of the Lordship’s power. We will also be exhibiting a number of photogrammetrical reconstructions of some of the artefacts found at the site and around the island, in addition to some drone footage from Islay and Jura.

A Finlaggan app will also be available in the coming year, bringing yet another dimension to the visitor experience and help bring Finlaggan to the attention of a wider public. Updates will follow. Watch this space.

The bridge of the Lords leading from Eilean na Comhairle to the Lords’ private quarters and the Great Hall

Share this:

  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Filed Under: News

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Opening Hours

Open from Saturday 5th April onwards.
Opening times: 1100 -1630 Monday-Saturday. Closed Sunday.
Please continue to visit this evocative location. Donations welcome, and all contributions go towards maintaining Finlaggan for future generations..

Contact Us

Email: finlaggan@outlook.com
Tel +44 (0) 1496 840 644

    

When visiting the historic site, dogs are to be kept on a leash at all times. We only welcome guide dogs inside the Visitor Centre.

© FINLAGGAN TRUST 2015 - SITE BUILT AND HOSTED BY BRAVEHEART WEBDESIGN & IT ISLAY